Cart 0
Grateful Dead - Skeletons From The Closet (Best Of), Vinyl LP

Grateful Dead - Skeletons From The Closet (Best Of), Vinyl LP


Grateful Dead - Skeletons From The Closet (Best Of), Vinyl LP

Skeletons from the Closet: The Best of Grateful Dead is the first compilation album from rock band the Grateful Dead. It was originally released in February 1974. As with other such packages, the album was a way for Warner Bros. Records to capitalize on the Dead's back catalog, after the band had left the label. It was followed three years later by a second compilation, What a Long Strange Trip It's Been.


Upon fulfilling their contract with Warner Bros. Records, the Grateful Dead left the label and started their own production and publishing arm for the release of their albums and other projects. After Wake of the Flood was successfully released on the independent Grateful Dead Records, Warner Bros. compiled Skeletons from the Closet as a "best-of" package, with tracks representing six of the band's nine albums on their label (along with a track from Bob Weir's solo album, Ace).

Eight of the tracks are from Dead studio recordings, and two are from live albums. However "Turn On Your Love Light" is an edited version, that first appeared on the Warner/Reprise Loss Leaders album The Big Ball, rather than the complete version from Live/Dead. "One More Saturday Night" is a live version from Europe '72. Though "Mexicali Blues" is from Weir's solo album, he is backed by the Grateful Dead. Nothing is presented from previous albums Anthem of the Sun, Grateful Dead or Bear's Choice, nor versions from singles.

Side A:

  1. The Golden Road (to Unlimited Devotion)
  2. Truckin’
  3. Rosemary
  4. Sugar Magnolia
  5. St. Stephen
  6. Uncle John's Band

Side B:

  1. Casey Jones
  2. Mexicali Blues
  3. Turn On Your Love Light
  4. One More Saturday Night
  5. Friend Of The Devil

    Share this Item

    More from this collection