Cart 0
Hat Hill Gallery

MILES DAVIS - At Newport 1955-1975: The Bootleg Series Vol. 4 8LP Box Set

Write a review

180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl LP Includes 12 Page Booklet and Poster

Miles Davis’ 20-year association as an artist at impresario George Wein’s renowned Newport Jazz Festival is a thriving tradition that will be celebrated with the release of Miles Davis At Newport 1955-1975: The Bootleg Series Vol. 4. The 8-LP box set, comprised of live performances by Miles’ stellar band lineups in 1955, 1958, 1966, 1967, 1969, 1971, 1973, and 1975, in Newport, Rhode Island, New York City, Berlin, and Switzerland.

The newest entry in the critically-acclaimed Miles Davis Bootleg Series, contains hours of previously unreleased material. From Miles’ debut performance at NJF in 1955 (a hastily arranged jam session featuring Thelonious Monk and Gerry Mulligan, that immediately led to the trumpeter’s Columbia signing), to his final public performance of the ‘70s in 1975, the box set traces the ascendance of Miles’ music as the Jazz superstar he has become known to be.

The full-length concert performances alone of Miles’ famed “Kind Of Blue” Sextet (with Cannonball Adderley, John Coltrane, Bill Evans, Paul Chambers, and Jimmy Cobb), and second great quintet in ‘66 and ‘67 (with Wayne Shorter, Herbie Hancock, Ron Carter, and Tony Williams) represent templates that reverberate in jazz and popular music to this day.


1. Spoken introductions by Duke Ellington and Gerry Mulligan
2. Hackensack
3. 'Round Midnight (1955 version)
4. Now's the Time
5. Introduction by Willis Connover
6. Ah-Leu-Cha
7. Straight, No Chaser
8. Fran-Dance
9. Two Bass hit
10. Bye Bye Blackbird
11. The Theme
12. Gingerbread Boy (1966 version)
13. All Blues
14. Stella by Starlight
15. R. J.
16. Seven Steps to Heaven
17. The Theme / Closing Announcement by Leonard Feather
18. Spoken introduction by Del Shields
19. Gingerbread Boy (1967 version)
20. Footprints
21. 'Round Midnight (1967 version)
22. So What
23. The Theme / Closing Announcement by Del Shields (1967)
24. Miles Runs the Voodoo Down
25. Sanctuary (1969)
26. It's About That Time / The Theme
27. Band Warming Up / Voice over introduction
28. Turnaroundphrase
29. Tune in 5
30. Ife
31. Untitled Original
32. Tune in 5
33. Mtume
34. Directions
35. What I Say
36. Sanctuary
37. It's About That Time
38. Bitches Brew
39. Funky Tonk
40. Sanctuary

    Share this Item