Cart 0
Josephine Foster - Faithful Fairy Harmony, 2x Vinyl LP

Josephine Foster - Faithful Fairy Harmony, 2x Vinyl LP


Josephine Foster - Faithful Fairy Harmony, 2x Vinyl LP

Factory sealed.

Josephine raises a stained-glass lamp and shepherds us spelunking the depths of spirit in this four-part double album. Following the fame of her voice are choruses of winged entities (and a space shuttle) that ascend and descend a maze of spirituals: ritual prayers, blues laments, vestal hymns and jubilant benedictions. The edges of the natural world are revolving backdrops from which our narrator perches upon symbolic precipice or saunters desolate snow-blanched forest, exploring eternal themes of mortality and morality, beneath the moon and in occasional dialogue with a mysterious lord of love, an ambiguous mystical figure.

Accompanying herself on guitar, piano, organ, harp & autoharp, this cycle of 18 new songs hearken back to various facets of Foster's anachronic oeuvre (the esoteric balladry of This Coming Gladness, native rhythms of Blood Rushing, somnambulist waltzes of I'm a Dreamer, the Shaker primitivism of Hazel Eyes, I Will Lead you). Celestial humor and devastating innocence are delivered with contributions from Victor Herrero (lead guitars), Gyða Valtýsdóttir (cello), Chris Scruggs (pedal steel), Jon Estes (bass), as well as cameos by members of The Cherry Blossoms and others. Recorded, engineered and mixed by Andrija Tokic at his Nashville Bomb Shelter Studio, mastered by John Baldwin, and produced by Josephine herself.

Track Listing:

1. Soothsayer Song
2. A Little Song
3. The Virgin Of The Snow
4. Pearl In Oyster
5. Benevolent Spring
6. Force Divine
7. All Pales Next To You
8. Lord Of Love
9. Eternity
10. Indian Burn
11. Peak Of Paradise
12. Adieu Color Adieu
13. Pining Away
14. Challenger
15. I Was Glad
16. Shepherd Moon Of Starry Height
17. Little Lamb
18. Faithful Fairy Harmony

                Share this Item

                More from this collection