Cart 0
Mary Timony - Mountains, 20th Anniversary Reissue 2x Vinyl LP

Mary Timony - Mountains, 20th Anniversary Reissue 2x Vinyl LP


Mary Timony - Mountains, 2x Vinyl LP

Factory sealed. New.

To date Matador’s Revisionist History series has set its focus on the hallowed year of 1995 – surfacing critical releases by Pavement, Yo La Tengo, Guided by Voices, and Chavez. Today, however, they whirl the dial on the in-house wayback machine and travel toward the future: the year 2000 and Mary Timony’s debut solo album, Mountains.

Remastered by Bob Weston, Mountains comes back to us as a gold foil-embossed gatefold 2xLP and will include the previously unreleased original takes of “Return to Pirates,” “Poison Moon,” and “Killed by the Telephone,” which were delivered along with the original master tapes 20 years ago, but were omitted from the final album. The record is completed by a newly recorded orchestral version of “Valley of One Thousand Perfumes” produced by composer Joe Wong (Russian Doll, Midnight Gospel) and mixed by Dave Fridmann. 

At the time of its original release, Timony called Mountains, “A Trip to the New Underworld.” “A bunch of hard stuff was happening in my life: family illnesses, people dying, people leaving, relationships ending. I fell into a deep depression,” she explains. “I tried new ways of making music: I tried writing songs without any filter at all, and I purposely didn't think about what the music would sound like to anyone else. I was only interested in describing what was in my head.”

Recorded and mixed in Boston alongside Christina Files and Eric Masunaga and in Chicago with Bob Weston, Mountains found Timony dialing into territory that was barer and more confessional than her work in Helium. Stark arrangements were augmented with newly ornate instrumentation -- piano, vibraphone, and viola -- and the lyrics were tinted with slyly occult imagery.

“Listening back to Mountains now I am struck most by how raw it sounds,” says Timony. “I hear the depression and angst, but also I hear all of that darkness disappearing through the power of music and friendship—and turning into songs during those happy and productive months recording and hanging out in Christina’s loft in downtown Boston.”

Track Listing:

  1. Dungeon Dance
  2. Poison Moon
  3. I Fire Myself
  4. The Bell
  5. Painted Horses
  6. The Hour Glass
  7. 13 Bees
  8. The Golden Fruit
  9. Whisper From the Tree
  10. 1542
  11. Valley of One Thousand Perfumes
  12. Tiger Rising
  13. An-deluzion
  14. The Fox and Hound
  15. Rider on the Stormy Sea
  16. Return to Pirates (Kingston St. Session)
  17. Poison Moon (Kingston St. Session)
  18. Killed by the Telephone (Kingston St. Session)
  19. Valley of One Thousand Perfumes (Orchestral Version)

    Share this Item

    More from this collection