Cart 0
Various Artists - Fire Over Babylon (Soul Jazz Records), 2x Vinyl LP

Various Artists - Fire Over Babylon (Soul Jazz Records), 2x Vinyl LP


Various Artists - Fire Over Babylon (Soul Jazz Records), 2x Vinyl LP

Factory Sealed (New).

Double vinyl LP pressing in gatefold jacket. Includes digital download. Fire Over Babylon: Dread, Peace and Conscious Sounds at Studio One features a stellar selection of '70s roots music classic and rare tracks recorded at Clement Dodd's musical empire at 13 Brentford Road in the 1970s. Rastafarian-inspired Roots music was an ever-important aspect of Studio One's output from the start of the 1970s onwards and this album features many of the ground-breaking groups and artists that established the sound of Jamaica during this decade and beyond. Featured here are seminal artists such as Freddie McGregor, The Wailing Souls, The Gladiators, Horace Andy, Devon Russell, Cedric Brooks, Count Ossie, Judah Eskender Tafari alongside a host of lesser-known rare cuts made at Studio One from artists such as The Prospectors, Viceroys and Pablove Black. Studio One and founder Clement Dodd's connection with Rastafarianism dates back to the early 1960s, with Dodd accompanying members of the Skatalites up to the hills of Kingston to listen to the music of the Rastafarian Count Ossie and his drummers. The album sleevenotes discuss how Clement Dodd's musical links, as well as his role in heading the most important record label in Reggae, are in many ways linked to the beliefs of Rastafarianism.

Track List:

A1. I Am A Revolutionist
A2. Burning In My Soul
A3. Without You
A4. Jah Jah Fire
A5. Sufferation
B1. Sonia
B2. Always Trying
B3. Ya Ho
B4. Give Me Back Me Language And Me Culture
C1. Serious Thing
C2. Glory For I
C3. Things And Time
C4. Inner Peace
C5. Peace
D1. Mr. Jolly Man
D2. Rock But Don't Fall
D3. Righteous Man
D4. So Many Problems

      Share this Item

      More from this collection