Cart 0
Various ‎– Of Factory New York, Factory Benelux ‎– FBN 55 2x Vinyl LP

Various ‎– Of Factory New York, Factory Benelux ‎– FBN 55 2x Vinyl LP


Factory Sealed LP.

Factory Benelux and New Order present Of Factory New York, a benefit album released in 2014 to assist the late Michael Shamberg, who ran the NYC office of Factory Records during the celebrated label's 80s heyday.

Of Factory New York gathers together a selection of classic tracks by artists associated with OFNY including the John Robie remix of Yashar by Cabaret Voltaire, Do the Du by A Certain Ratio, Cool As Ice by 52nd Street, Love Tempo by Quando Quango, the Megamix version of Looking From A Hilltop by Section 25 and an exclusive version of Your Silent Face by New Order, recorded live on tour at Irvine, California, on 16 June 1989.

Homegrown American talent featured on the album includes Ike Yard, Thick Pigeon, Konk, Anna Domino and deejay/producer Arthur Baker. The cover art is based on an original 1983 design by Lawrence Weiner, the conceptual artist closely associated with Shamberg and Factory's Big Apple operation.

Unfortunately in 2006 Michael was struck down with highly debilitating mitochondrial disease. All artists featured on Of Factory New York have donated their work free of charge. Following Michael's passing Factory Benelux are now donating all revenues to the Christie Hospital in Manchester, who treated Tony Wilson during his final illness and whose sterling work in the field of cancer research continues today.

2xLP tracklist:

Side 1

1. A Certain Ratio Do the Du
2. Quando Quango Love Tempo
3. 52nd Street Cool As Ice

Side 2

1. Cabaret Voltaire Easier
2. New Order Your Silent Face (live)
3. Konk Baby Dee

Side 3

1. Section 25 Looking From A Hilltop
2. Streetlife Act On Instinct
3. Marcel King Reach For Love

Side 4

1. Thick Pigeon Subway
2. Ike Yard Kino
3. Arthur Baker Come On
4. Anna Domino Summer

    Share this Item

    More from this collection